The bands business affairs are run by an elected group of playing members and supporters, known as the Business Management Team (BMT)

It meets regularly and is in frequent contact via email to ensure that the goals set by the player's are meet finically and socially.

It administers money derived from Sponsorship, band fee's and fund raising, over a myriad different band obligations from:

Uniform purchases.

Instrument purchases.

Band promotion.

Financing of teaching programmes.

Educational exchange programmes with band such as Manuwatu #2 NZ.

Band contributions toward local and international travel.

It is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the bands business running with the exception of music.

It schedules engagements, that the band runs which has included the PBANSW Branch State Mini Bands Championships as well as the Governor Macquarie Memorial Solo and Quintets contest. as well as fund raising events. With recommendations from the Music Committee it enters chosen competitions and allocates funding for same.

It oversees all aspects of tours undertaken for competition and performance within the state, country and overseas.

The current members of the BMT are:

President & Pipe Major                Barry Gray.

Secretary                                        Mel Besley

Treasurer                                       Kristin Smith.

Vice President                               Iain McLennan

Drum Sergeant                             Greg Shaw

Quartermaster                              Robyn Woodward

Committee Members:                  Fraser Smith 

                                                         Stephen Kerr 

                                                        Aaron Whybrow                                                                                         Michelle Smith

Non Committee Appointments:

Google Drive Manager:                Aaron Whybrow

Registration Secretary:                Cathie Shaw

Newsletter Editor & Publicty:     Adam Hall

Facebook & Social Media:           Robbie Szafranek

The musical aspects of the band are taken care of by various members associated over our 3 bands system.  This includes selecting the tunes and scores to meet each bands "goals" for the upcoming period, be it competitive, performance or show based.

The current members of our Music Committee are:

Pipe Major                 Barry Gray

Pipe Sergeant            Hugh Rowan

Pipe Corporals:         Lachlan Wiggins

                                     Riordan Drake

#2 Piping Rep:           Ken McCurrach

#3 Piping Rep:           Iain McLennan

Drum Sergeant:        Greg Shaw

Lead Tenor:               Micheal Smith

Tenor Tutor:              Mel Besley

                  Successful bands are ones that spread the                                                 work load over many capable people!                                                              We believe in the saying                                                                  "many hands make for light work"

PO Box 323, Windsor NSW Australia 2756

(+61) 0426 123 058

©2017 by Governor Macquarie Memorial Pipe Band. Proudly created with